This recipe for homemade gluten-free oat matzoh crackers is made with certified gluten-free oat flour, potato starch and almond meal. These rustic matzoh crackers are tender, crisp and a good cracker to serve during Passover. They are baked within 18 minutes of adding water and they do not contain corn, rice, bean flours or leavening agents.
If gluten-free baking isn't your thing, you can find gluten-free matzoh at Lakewood Matzoh. Lakewood matzoh is made with 100% certified gluten-free oat flour and water - and nothing else, meaning this product is Hamotzi and appropriate for Seder and Kosher for Passover.
Lakewood offers three gluten-free matzoh products, a one pound box of square machine made matzoh crackers, a one half pound box of round hand made matzoh crackers and a one pound bag of gluten-free matzoh meal.
Visit the Lakewood Matzoh website to learn more about their products, where you can find them and how you can order them. You will notice that these products are quite expensive. As their representative Izzy explains, certified gluten-free oats are much more expensive than wheat, Rabbinical supervision is provided from harvest through milling for Kosher certification and absolutely no inexpensive gluten-free starches like tapioca or potato starch are used in Lakewood matzoh, just certified gluten-free oat flour and water, making this matzoh accecptable for Seder.
Prep Time: 20 minutes
Cook Time: 10 minutes
Total Time: 30 minutes
- 2/3 cup finely ground, sifted certified gluten-free oat flour (see tip)
- 2/3 cup potato starch (not flour)
- 1/8 cup almond meal
- 3/4 teaspoon fine Kosher salt
- 1/4 cup vegetable shortening (I used Spectrum Organic All Vegetable Shortening)
- 4 tablespoons plus 1 teaspoon water
If you have a pizza stone, preheat it in the oven. If not, line 2 large baking sheets with parchment paper
- In a large mixing bowl combine oat flour (see tip below), potato starch, almond meal and salt. Whisk to thoroughly combine.
- Add vegetable shortening and use an electric beater or stand mixer to combine.
- Add water and beat for about 1 minute, until the ingredients are blended and mixture holds together.
- Use a spatula to scrape the matzoh dough onto a large, clean cutting board, lightly sprinkled with potato starch. Knead the dough briefly and form a ball with the dough. Cut the dough in half.
- Tear 2 large sheets of waxed paper. Sprinkle 1 sheet with reserved oat bran or potato starch. Press 1 ball of matzoh dough into a disk and place the second sheet of waxed paper over it.
- Use a rolling pin to roll the dough in a circle, just like making pie dough.
- Use a fork to prick holes in the dough. Sprinkle with more oat bran.
- If you are using a pizza stone to bake the matzoh crackers, carefully remove the hot stone from the oven. Remove the top sheet of waxed paper from the rolled matzoh dough. Lift the dough with the bottom sheet of waxed paper and gently turn the dough onto the pizza stone and peel back the waxed paper.
- Return the hot stone to the oven and bake the gluten-free oat matzoh for about 10 minutes, or until crisp and lightly browned around the edges. Carefully transfer to a cooling rack. Repeat baking process with second ball of dough.
Note-If you are using baking sheets lined with parchment paper to bake the matzoh crackers, lightly sprinkle with reserved oat bran. Carefully place dough on baking sheet, peel back waxed paper from dough, sprinkle with more oat bran and bake for about 10 minutes, or until crisp and lightly browned around the edges. Cool on wire rack
Yield- Two 8-inch matzoh crackers
To make fine oat flour, use a clean electric coffee bean grinder to grind 1 cup of certified gluten-free rolled oats. Add about 1/3 cup oats at a time and pulse 3 times. Use a fine mesh strainer to sift flour. Reserve the oat bran to sprinkle on matzoh dough when you roll it out and before you bake it. (1 cup of rolled oats equals about 2/3 cup of oat flour.
Reminder: Always make sure your work surfaces, utensils, pans and tools are free of gluten. Always read product labels. Manufacturers can change product formulations without notice. When in doubt, do not buy or use a product before contacting the manufacturer for verification that the product is free of gluten.