1. Food
You can opt-out at any time. Please refer to our privacy policy for contact information.

Is Baking Powder Gluten-Free?


Is Baking Powder Gluten-Free?

Gluten-Free Baking Powder

Photo istockphoto

Question: Is Baking Powder Gluten-Free?

Gluten-free baking recipes frequently call for "gluten-free" baking powder and some products are labeled "gluten-free." Why is that? Learn what's in baking powder and even make your own fresh gluten-free baking powder at home.


No, not all brands of baking powder are gluten-free. Baking powder is made from baking soda, cream of tartar (a bi-product of wine production) and a "moisture absorption agent" which is usually, but not always cornstarch. Other starches including potato starch (gluten-free) and wheat starch (contains gluten) can be used in baking powder products.

Therefore, not all brands of baking powder are gluten-free. According to manufacturer information, the following baking powder brands are gluten-free. Most of these products are available at large and small grocery stores in the United States.

If you are unable to find gluten-free baking powder or you find that the can you have is old (passed expiration date) use this simple recipe for Homemade Baking Powder.

Product freshness is extremely important when using baking powder. Baking powder is a "leavening agent" which means it makes baked goods rise. Old, outdated baking powder doesn't provide the rise that fresh products do. Always check expiration date on can before buying baking powder!

Reminder: Always make sure your work surfaces, utensils, pans and tools are free of gluten. Always read product labels. Manufacturers can change product formulations without notice. When in doubt, do not buy or use a product before contacting the manufacturer for verification that the product is free of gluten.


©2014 About.com. All rights reserved.