First there were gluten-free beers like Redbridge from Anheuser-Busch, Bard's Tale and New Grist from Lakefront Brewery - beer-like drinks made with sorghum that contain zero gluten from barley.
Some people like gluten-free beers, some tolerate the unique taste and others think they're horrible.
Today gluten-free beer drinkers have a new option - "gluten reduced" beer - real beer in the true sense of the definition, this beer is made from malted barley. It's called "gluten reduced" beer due to a specialized enzyme added to the beer which acts to break down the gluten protein in barley into smaller proteins.
Learn more about gluten reduced beers, how they are made, how they are tested for gluten, how current labeling laws affect how they are marketed and ultimately, if they are safe for Celiacs.